What do IBM server, Harley-Davidson, and Jesus Christ have in common? Part I

I heard of Harley-Davidson back in China, but never buy one, since it’s over priced and low quality. Isn’t Honda CBR1000 a much better product?

2003_harley_davidson_fatboy

In Boston, what I saw just confirmed my dislike about Harley:
1) HD is so laud, I like quietness.
2) People who ride HD are so out of shape – obesities; I want to keep fit.
3) My prejudice told me
a) HD are probably made in China
b) riders look uneducated and un-sophisticated Caucasian
c) the sound makes me think it’s going to break due to over vibration
1) and 2) are facts, and 3) is my perception.

It’s heavy, slow, and handling pretty bad. Why people still love it?
One thing clear is they don’t think the way I do.  Here let me introduce my three dimension product analysis framework. After that it will be clear about the product difference and people difference. You can use it to make sense of any product in the world.

3D Product Analysis framework

About Shenxin(Nicolas) Xu

Consultant
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment