God Father – Soul Harbor

Sigmund_Freud 1856 - 1939

Sigmund_Freud

Sigmund Freud, Austrian neurologist who gave birth of modern psychiatry, once asserted that on certain occasions the mind acts as though could eliminate tension entirely, or in effect to reduce itself to a state of extinction.

Freud saw the phenomenon of repetition is a form of discharge, and concluded that the compulsion to repeat is an effort to restore a state that that is both historically primitive and marked by the total draining of energy: death.

This theory explains some illusionists like to repeat one word or one action. I have the same tendencies, but I think doing the same thing over and over again can derive a sense of control, a pleasure, or even a dose of dopamine to calm down myself in this crazy mixed up world, where we lost orientation, and when the self perceived identity has been shattered.

The repetition could be talking to trusted person, going to church, or like me, watching God Father 3 along, an intellectual masterpiece. Only in this movie, I can let go of all the trouble,  find strength, and make sense of glittering world.

Sometimes, I was Michael Coleoni “in five years, our business will be completely legitimate”; or I am young Vincent, making choice between Mary and business. Even I become the wife of Michael, enjoying the life of rich family, rather than interfering with family business, which she had no clue. It’s quite satisfying and lucky that I can live out of my life.

In Godfather, I have my identity back, even more I can be anyone I want to be. I am in control and I know what is the right or wrong decision under the familiar setting.

About Shenxin(Nicolas) Xu

Consultant
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment